Triangeln is yet another mall in Malmö. Located in the central parts of southern Malmö it hosts a whole bunch of shops of different kinds. The layout of the place is pretty messy, even though I’ve been there a lot of times I often tend to get lost when trying to find the shortest way out.

As in Mobilia (see: Public spaces pt. 3: Mobilia) there is an open air dining area that spills out into the mall, the seatings are belonging to a couple of different cafés. At this specific location the ceiling height is very generous which creates an acoustic atmosphere that resembles a very noisy cathedral, light-hearted pop music added to the background. I find this interesting as you somewhat get filled with a devotional feeling in a place dedicated to shopping.

The recording below is made from the second floor of the mall, so I’m elevated a couple of meters compared to the dining area. The very audible background noise, that I didn’t pay attention to while recording, must be coming from the surrounding traffic as well as the loads of people walking around. Once again it hits me how many sounds it is that my brain selectively ignores when visiting familiar areas out in the field.

Triangeln

Please use headphones when listening to this quasi-binaural recording.

Geek note: Soundman OKM-II Klassik -> Sony PCM-D50

